Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie

Hi guys. Happy Sunday. Today I made a conscious decision to take care of myself, and canceled the 2 events I had for the evening. I wanted to see Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie with my brother, so that’s what I did. And it might have been the best decision I’ve made in a while.

I’m learning it’s okay to say no. It’s okay to not go to everything. This doesn’t help my fomoblog.com mantra, but hey. I have been literally running on empty. I had to take this day for myself. Plus I had some work to finish for the majority of the day. Being a freelance writer, it never really ends.

💨💨 #hoodrichpablojuan 📸: @elopez_trvp

A post shared by HipHopDX (@hiphopdx) on

But today was seriously solid all throughout. It was a good ass day. It began with a sesh with Sour Matt and Hoodrich Pablo Juan. I was interviewing him for DX and could not believe how chill he was. Seriously. He’s a trap rapper from Atlanta and has been making major waves in the rap game. He’s also smart af. That was the angle we were going with. Have you guys ever heard of a trap rapper who’s smart af? Graduated high school early? Me either.

We actually posted up at Park La Brea, and I was blown away by the amazing view on the 7th floor. It was gorgeous. This dude had the dopest set up. He owns a clothing brand named Lonerism, and laced ya girl. I was so fucking grateful. Seriously. Merch me up, and I will 1000% support your brand. Sour Matt is Mr. Backwoods, and probably one of my favorite people. I just super fuck with people who have the same vision as you… SO HARD. “Making moves” are some words to live by.

That being said, I got what I needed and kicked it for a sec. I forgot how it was to just… chill. Like, I never just chill. It felt good. Head out, returned some sweatpants at Nordstrom at The Grove, and then head to Core Power Yoga. Tear. My last free class so the next time I go (or get caught), I have to pay. It’s been a good run. Yo, I was lit going into this. It was an amazing hour of yoga lmao.

This was perfect timing to hit the 7:05pm at Arclight Hollywood. Yes. This movie is a cartoon. Yes, I was mad excited.

IMDB plot: Two overly imaginative pranksters named George and Harold, hypnotize their principal into thinking he’s a ridiculously enthusiastic, incredibly dimwitted superhero named Captain Underpants.

My bro said he used to read the books growing up. Anyone else? This was the original movie. And Kevin Hart is the voice of one of the kids!!! Best surprise ever. Kevin Hart is my spirit animal. This movie was fucking adorable. Everything about it was cute. Low key my brother left the Dubs game with his homies to hang out with me, so I’m extra thankful. This was the perfect ending to the long weekend.

It’s less than an hour 30, which is so clutch. When the credits hit, we got up from the first row and I glanced back behind me. All. Kids. With. Their. Parents. Omg lmao. We were the only adults. And I clapped lmao.

Got out before 9pm which meant an hour to get a foot massage in. Sunset Foot Spa in Hollywood y’ll. They teased me hard. But it was still life changing. Bless.

___

TRACK OF THE DAY: This isn’t new and I’m basic for it, but this video is hilarious.

Leave a Reply

