Wyclef Jean Threatens To Sue LAPD After Case Of Mistaken Identity

Just when things seem to have simmered down (briefly) with injustice, another incident with the police surfaces. This time, racial profiling strikes again.

On March 21, Wyclef Jean was pulled over and handcuffed by Los Angeles officers, in a case of mistaken identity.

In an Instagram post that has now since been deleted, Wyclef writes in the caption, “I was asked by the police to Put my hands up. Then I was told do not move. I was instantly hand cuffed before being asked to identify myself and before being told why. In the process I said my name and told them they have wrong person. They proceeded to ignore me and I was treated like a criminal. I am sure no father wants his sons or daughters to see him in Handcuffs especially if he is innocent. As some one who has law enforcers in my family, I was appalled by the bahavior of the LAPD.”

In another post, both of which come in the form of a video, Wyclef identifies himself as a recording artist and threatened “to sue the LAPD.”

The reason for the ordeal stems from the Haitian musician matching the identity of an armed robbery suspect. TMZ reports that Wyclef’s car matched the description of the vehicle used in the armed robbery, and both Wyclef and the suspect wore bandanas.

In a video uploaded on TMZ’s Youtube page, Wyclef Jean explains that L.A. County Sheriff’s deputies flat-out lied about his traffic stop to cover their own tracks.

The robbery suspect was caught around the same time While Wyclef was let go. Although Grammy-winning artist admits the police were just doing their job, it appears he still feels some type of way.

Leave a Reply

