Fences.

fences.jpg

I fucking loved this movie. Oh, the irony in this photo. Once you see it, you’ll understand why. Fences at Regal L.A. Live at 10:15pm. It’s a 2 hour 13 minute movie, so you have to commit. It was bomb though. It doesn’t feel long at all. I enjoyed every minute of it.

Honestly, you can’t lose with Denzel Washington. He’s GOAT. But the real GOAT in this movie is Viola Davis. Like wow. Her acting in this movie was phenomenal. There was one scene that had me screaming Oscar (in my head). Her and Denzel made the movie. It got a very fitting 95% rating.

Rotten Tomatoes plot: Denzel Washington directed and stars in this adaptation of August Wilson’s Pulitzer Prize-winning play, which centers on a black garbage collector named Troy Maxson in 1950s Pittsburgh. Bitter that baseball’s color barrier was only broken after his own heyday in the Negro Leagues, Maxson is prone to taking out his frustrations on his loved ones. Both Washington and co-star Viola Davis won Tonys for their performances in the 2010 revival of the play.

Holy shit Denzel directed it too! Trophies. This plot confused me before the movie, and I literally couldn’t tell if they meant real garbage or like taxes. Tbh, I’m still not sure lmao. Me and my bro kept trying to pull the life lessons from this film, which is based on a play. It’s very emotional. My girl told me she cried, which made me wanna see it (standard).

The theme of family stood out to me the most. It highlighted some real life shit that people go through in life. Life is hard guys. Fr fr. I’m going through some shit rn and I just feel like I’m trying so hard to push it to the side. I know that’s not going to hold up forever. I know. Going to try to push through my bday Monday and then deal.

Sorry, get distracted. Me and my bro really liked the movie. I think everyone in the theater did. I noticed this movie isn’t playing everywhere, which usually means it’s indie. But not sure about Denzel being indie haha. How Denzel is portrayed in the movie was a trip. He was this power father figure who tried so hard to be all religious and holy, but was actually just evil. I’d be terrified if he was my father, or husband. Damn. Scary.

I def recommend it though. Fasho worth it. Before the movie, my brother took me to see Amelie the musical. We wanted to do something other than a movie since it was my bday weekend, but we were shit out of ideas. He literally googled “things to do in LA” and this popped up for tonight lmao. Thanks bro. Appreciate you.

I fucking loved it. It was adorable. It took place at Ahmanson Theatre downtown on Grand, which we were saying we could have walked to from my place. It was a very nice evening. Everyone was dressed nice and you could tell this was planned far in advance. Us: two days lmao. We copped the last two seats on the balcony. Halla.

I was in my head a lot of it though. I would physically have to force myself to focus on the stage. I mean, it was honestly really adorable. And there was a live orchestra right below. The musical is about a French girl coming to find herself. It’s funny, quirky, cute, and entertaining. When we were walking out, it felt like we were in New York, a city I have my eyes on. Broadway is huge there.

The people that performed got a very well-deserved standing ovation afterwards. It gave me chills lmao I’m so lame. I feel really blessed and grateful I got to go though. Shout out to my bro, once again.

We had 15 minutes to kill so we hit Ralph’s before the movie, and I had on heels, which made me terrified people weren’t going to think we weren’t siblings. It’s an actual fear everywhere we go somewhere just us 2. Smh. The movie was also super last minute. We couldn’t decide. And then we just YOLO-ed.

Life.

___

TRACK OF THE DAY: Video just dropped. Love Ty.

Leave a Reply

