Why Him?

why-him

Omg. This was the funniest movie I’ve seen in a long time. Honestly. Truly. The ratings don’t do it any justice. It got a 41% and a 63% percent. Nah. I’d give it over 75%. No joke, me and my bro were lol-ing. Along with the rest of the theater.

First of all, the entire theater was PACKED. Like every single seat. We hit the 9:45pm showing at AMC Mercado in Santa Clara. This is one of my favorite theaters in the bay. Their food court is litty and they added a bar. But anyways. The ticket lady warned us that it was 90% full. We figured we would just be stuck in the first row. Wrong. We walked in and see the very front row entirely full.

It’s moments like these when I appreciate the seated theaters in LA. I didn’t see any benefit until another similar instance. Me being me, I (kindly) asked an entire family of 4 to shift one seat over so me and my bro could sit together in the front middle row. Turns out we ended up with the best damn seats in the house. We were joking how my bro would have never been bold enough to ask. He probably would have left in defeat. Smh.

This movie is pure comedy. I legit sat next to a mom and could feel her uncomfortableness. Rotten Tomatoes plot:

Over the holidays, Ned (Bryan Cranston), an overprotective but loving dad and his family visit his daughter at Stanford, where he meets his biggest nightmare: her well-meaning but socially awkward Silicon Valley billionaire boyfriend, Laird (James Franco). The straight-laced Ned thinks Laird, who has absolutely no filter, is a wildly inappropriate match for his daughter. The one-sided rivalry-and Ned’s panic level-escalate when he finds himself increasingly out of step in the glamorous high-tech hub, and learns that Laird is about to pop the question.

James Franco is fucking hilarious. Everything from his fake tattoos to his stupidity (character’s stupidity… I think) was just funny. Bryan Cranston, which forever reminds me of Malcom In The Middle, literally kills it also. I never watched Breaking Bad, so I never saw him in a serious role. I think he is just very talented overall. This was perfect. He played the father of a beautiful 22-year-old about to marry an idiot. Zoey Deutch is bae too. She plays the girl. She’d def be the star if the other 2 weren’t so famous lmao.

This is the perfect movie to see over the holidays with your friends (or family if y’ll are close and hip). It’s a little under two hours, but doesn’t feel long at all. It’s literally so entertaining the entire time. There were a couple scenes that my bro and I couldn’t get over. Ooo and there are shots in the Bay Area. Our hood. What up Stanford.

I almost forgot: Keegan-Michael Key (from Key & Peele) plays James’ butler and is an absolute riot. So funny. And shout out to Steve Aoki and KISS for the cameos.

Today was long. Drove back from a weekend in Carmel with the fam, so beat haha. I forget today is a national holiday for everyone. #NonCorporateLife. I had plans to go to the shooting range with my bestie because he just got a pistol. Smh. I was so worried when he first told me lmao. I feel like owning a gun is unnecessary (slash scary). But anyways.

We hit Reed’s in Santa Clara. This wasn’t my first rodeo. I’ve gone in Long Beach before on a Groupon. But I honestly don’t remember shit haha. Man. This time around was intense. I legit cut my hand. He had easy bullets and harder bullets and the recoil on the harder ones literally bust open my hand. I felt like a pansy going up to the front and asking for a band aid lmao. Actual blood was shed. Savage.

And then I hit Valley Fair and did some returns. Zumiez wouldn’t take back these Vans from days ago because the receipt was too old, so I’ma try again tomorrow with no receipt. I got into it with the manager, and I’m not taking no for an answer. Nope.

Wish me luck lmao. My bro’s going to Europe tomorrow and I’m sad haha. Forever alone.

___

TRACK OF THE DAY: I hope I haven’t posted this track yet. This shit is lit.

Leave a Reply

