The Birth of a Nation.

0

Wow. I’m honestly completely speechless. This movie was extremely heavy and left me at a loss for words. I hadn’t heard much about it, but people told me it was a slave movie. That’s a topic I definitely showed interested in growing up in high school. I hated history too. Martin Luther King was always an idol to me.

This picture captures the emotion in this film. I’m gonna hit you with the Wiki plot bc IMDB’s is pointless:

Nat Turner is an enslaved Baptist preacher who lives on a Virginia plantation owned by Samuel Turner. With rumors of insurrection in the air, a cleric convinces Samuel that Nate should sermonize to other slaves, thereby quelling any notions of an uprising. As Nate witnesses the horrific treatment of his fellow man, he realizes that he can no longer just stand by and preach. On Aug. 21, 1831, Turner’s quest for justice and freedom leads to a violent and historic rebellion in Southampton County.
Sorry if that was long. I guess this was the remake of the original one. My homeboy said it literally showed maybe 10-15% of the whole story, which tripped me out. Everything that took place in this film was a lot to take in.
Bringing light into the situation… what happened to us before the movie was so bizarre. Literally think back and laugh. I was late coming from Westwood, so my homeboy bought his ticket. 7:15pm at Arclight Culver City (yup was just here). He said J10. Cool.
Met my hg and tell the cashier dude the movie time and he asked us to pick our seats, but we see J10 is empty. Odd. Didn’t think anything of it… probably should have.
We walk into theater 4 bc that’s what our tickets said. You guys. We literally walked into the end of the movie, like literally we watched the last 7 minutes of Birth of a Nation. He put us in the wrong fucking theater and somehow, someway, we managed to catch the ending. HOW DOES THAT HAPPEN?
Of course I complained and we got free passes but still, we saw the fucking ending haha. The cashier gave us tickets to the 8:15pm showing, which was in the same theater as the 6:15, so we walked in for the end. I was literally wondering why it was so crazy too. SMH. If there ever was an SMH, it would be here.
Anyways, we finally get in and meet my friend who I yelled at saying he was in the wrong theater. LMAO. Sorry boo. Literal hot mess.
The movie is 2 hours long and I honestly say, only go see it if you can handle it. I had to look away many times. One scene honestly broke my heart. It really did and it’ll probably repeat in my head every time I think of this movie. Definitely need to be thick-boned for this one. I cried for sure.
Also, going with 2 of my African American friends, I really realize how many black friends I do have. Some are REALLY into the Black Lives Matter movement, some don’t say a word (making me wonder if they care as much). I just wanted to say I respect each and every one of my friends, regardless of race. Everyone has their own experiences with racism.
It was EXTREMELY slow at work today. You guys don’t know how I bad I wanted Colombus Day off lmao. This holiday doesn’t apply to most of us though. Definitely had a lot of chocolate and slept in my car on my lunch. Happy Monday right?
Went to Core Power Yoga Sculpt in Westwood after. Thank you, as always. Then had a dental procedure for my tooth that was pulled. I guess this was an implant? Idk but it was painful. My mouth is STILL numb.
And I had to get antibiotics and I literally choked when I tried to take it while driving on my way to the movies. I thought I was gonna die. Those pills are too big.
And my cheap ass passed on the Motrin cause I didn’t wanna pay and I had Advil at home. My mouth literally started throbbing in the movie. I was in pain.
I’m a joke.
Bye.

___

TRACK OF THE DAY: My girl hates this song and I find it hilarious. I like it haha.

Leave a Reply

