Hands of Stone.

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 10.09.06 PM.png

Whoa this pic is lit haha. I stole it off Usher’s IG. I’ve been wanting to see this movie ever since I heard he was starring as boxing legend Sugar Rey Leonard. I was literally expecting him to be in the entire movie but SURPRISE. He’s not even the main character lmao. It’s actually about his boxing opponent Roberto Duran, who’s also a legend. His trainer is Robert De Niro in the movie, another legend haha.

Hands of Stone at The Grove at 7:10pm. Smh at me, I had invited a bunch of people and my ass was late af haha. Standard. Good thing the theater was empty af haha I had my homegirl just choose a row. Shout out to her. I went with my 2 girls and homeboy I hadn’t seen in a minute. I got there literally when the movie started, the exact dot. How do I do it?

During the movie, I had a moment because I realized my homie looks JUST LIKE USHER. Hashtag doppleganger. It was funny. Usher’s fro was poppin though. He legit looked like he was from the 80’s. I asked my hg if this was his acting debut, and she goes, no he was in She’s All That. Lawl.

IMDB plot: The legendary Roberto Duran and his equally legendary trainer Ray Arcel change each other’s lives.

This does the movie no justice haha. I’m about to hit you with the Wiki summary, it’s long don’t hate me.

At age 72, legendary trainer Ray Arcel (Robert De Niro) comes out of retirement to coach world-class Panamanian boxer Roberto Durán (Édgar Ramírez). Arcel becomes a mentor to the ferocious fighter, convincing him that winning ultimately comes down to strategy. After scoring knockout after knockout, Duran prepares for a bout against Sugar Ray Leonard, the undefeated lightweight champion. Five months later, on Nov. 25, 1980, the two titans meet for an infamous rematch that makes boxing history.

Obvi, this is based on a true story. I was honestly really touched by it. Like I clapped at the end haha. I guess that’s expected with a film about a boxing legend repping the US. The film did a great job shedding light on the politics behind the sport, and how these professional athletes rep their country, and the impact they have on their people. It’s a big deal man.

This definitely reminded me of all the other dope boxing movies out there. Not in a bad way, just the same story line. It definitely was no Southpaw though haha. No one tops Eminem. The movie was an hour 45 min. My hg had to pee twice lmao I always make fun of her bladder.

0

I would like to take a moment to acknowledge the fucking hot actress who plays Duran’s wife. First of all, there was a lot of Spanish dialogue, but it was hot lmao. Forever wishing I was fluent in another language. Anyways. Her name is Ana de Armas. This might be her breakthrough film haha. There’s a pretty intimate sex scene where hg gets naked. Her boobs are enormous.

Usher gets intimate with his girl too. Like you see his ass lmao. Fucking Hollywood.

I needed this movie tn. Life is unbearable rn. I hate the unknown guys. I hate not knowing the future. Some shit went down with my family too that really just broke my heart. Like, it made me so sad when I found out.

I went on a run last night for the first time in a minute, and it felt really good. Like really good. But I hate running lmao. Finally listened to most of PARTYNEXTDOOR’s P3 album. One of the 8 albums I have in queue. Had to look up how to spell that word lmao.

I didn’t work out today so I feel like I’m lacking in endorphins. Had chocolate though, does that count? Also why does literally everything in the world have to be bad for you? WHY.

___

TRACK OF THE DAY: This the jam.

 

Leave a Reply

