Florence Foster Jenkins

0

First of all, I had to look up the name of this movie again lmao. Florence Foster Jenkins. Fucking hard to remember. Legit have never heard of this until 10 min before we decided to go haha. It turned out to be so good though. SO WORTH IT. Legit my life is crazy rn, and movies are such a good break from life. Truly. Esp if it’s a really good film. And this was.

So me and my hg were supposed to attend this screening of Ringside, this movie that was going to be released on TV or some shit idk. It was so crazy because the screening was actually at Actor’s Fund, where I was originally placed for my second year fieldwork at USC. But them bitches let me go. So fucking sad haha. I actually really liked them too. And they’re close to where I live. SIGH.

So it wasn’t meant to be right off the bat haha. The screening was at 7 with a cast Q&A after, and we pulled up around 7:20 and they said they were at capacity. Even though we were on the list. Smh. Fashionably late doesn’t always fly lmao. I hit up the publicist who set it up but she had responded after we left. She said she could get us in though, SMH again ha.

I feel so bad haha shout out to my one hg who actually asked me to see this movie, but we ended up seeing it without her. I’m sorry!! Haha she couldn’t go til later and we wanted to go then. Also gotta be up mad early tomorrow, long ass day. So we hit the 7:35pm showing at The Grove. Low key it was perfect. Around the corner haha. And I love that place man. I had an extra movie pass so I gave it to my girl <3.

The theater was kinda packed, but it was the smaller theaters. Ooo they had a screening for Don’t Breathe, which is a scary movie coming out. We’re excited for that one haha halla if you wanna come. But anywho this movie got super good reviews. I feel like the Indie films always come out on top. Fuck mainstream haha. Plus they had some big timers in it.

Here’s the plot: The story of Florence Foster Jenkins, a New York heiress who dreamed of becoming an opera singer, despite having a terrible singing voice.

Short and sweet lmao. It stars Meryl Streep, Hugh Grant, and Simon Helberg. Omg I fell in love with Simon. My girl knew him from Big Bang Theory. He’s hella funny man. Super nerdy but super perfect for his role in the movie. It’s almost 2 hours long but it’s super interesting and entertaining the entire time. I loved it ha.

AND it’s based on a true story. That’s always a plus, in any situation. It was such a trip though. Hella takeaways haha. Me and my girl were trying to list them. My top was: do what you love, even if you suck. Lmao. Fr though. And sucking with opera singing is no joke. Like people’s ears get hurt haha. And that’s exactly what Meryl did. Also wondering if that was her singing throughout the film, because that shit was intense haha.

I can’t help to laugh because my brother thinks she’s hella annoying. He woulda been so pissed if I made him watch this haha. UmmMmmMmMmm. I had to get a FUCKING nother rental car today. Legit wasted my morning waiting around only to be put in a fucking Toyota Prius. Jk it’s not that bad, I actually super fuck with the car haha. Save gas hayyyyy.

I had hella work to do when I finally got back. Got Starbucks for the first time in a long time and it was so bomb guys haha. White mocha frap for life. I also crashed a class at USC today, trying to enroll this semester. Crossing my fingers man. It was soooooo weird to be back. Especially when I thought I wasn’t going back. Sigh. Life is crazy.

There were a couple girls in my class whom I adore, so it was good to see them. But man, I’m constantly distracted. It’s so hard for me to focus on one thing at any given time. Like opening 10 tabs on Google Chrome. Why can’t I just finish one task and move on to the next like a normal person?

___

TRACK OF THE DAY: G-Eazy just dropped this. Shout out to the Bay ALWAYS.

 

Leave a Reply

