Russ.

IMG_2126

Wow. I was too upset last night to write this haha. Idk if you guys notice, I usually write my reviews the night of. But man, shit had me weak yday haha.

ANYWAYS. Living off no sleep. Well maybe an hour or two. I decided to last minute hitch a ride home for the weekend. Got an Uber around 4am to go to Porter Ranch to meet my homeboy who was driving. The plan was to dip at 7am. Shout out to him for accommodating me last minute. Me and my big ass suitcase :/. I fucked up. I had no other bags. That shit was empty too I just had no smaller luggage. SMH.

My Uber driver was dope we talked about Hip Hop the entire time haha. I’ve never gotten an Uber that late… it’s crazy they’re around the clock. But anywho. Porter Ranch is fucking nice. Like wow the houses were beautiful I was like DANG MY BAD. Literally him and his 2 homies were up chillin bc they got turnt haha. They just DJed in Little Tokyo so we were just blazing. All of a sudden his friend goes, “wait, let’s leave.” I was like YAS. I fucks with you lmao. I was so d to dip. Weed makes me awake af and there was no way I could crash at 5am.

So we hit the road. I really felt so bad my luggage barely fit in the whip. It was a tight squeeze fasho. They were so fucking nice though. Bay kids are legit the shit haha. And we listened to lit music the entire ride. At first the kid did NOT let me sleep. I was so sad haha. I brought my airplane neck pillow and everything like I was so ready to PTFO haha so sad.

Anyways it’s weird being home, but I fucking love it. Just posted working rn but I got a busy day ahead. I love Sunnyvale though man. Makes me smile. Trying really hard to be civil with my mama but it’s not that easy.

Okay back to last night. The day started off with a beautiful root canal. Cried like a little bitch, but at least the pain went away. I’ve been out of commission man. Some shit went down Wednesday night that had me super fucked up in my head mentally. I need yoga. Sigh but can’t sneak in here haha.

I missed our music meeting. But met up with my crew at The Melt on Sunset for a Khleo Thomas event. If you don’t know, it’s a grilled cheese spot. And Khleo is Zero from Holes who is now rapping haha. No lie though, the event turned SO ratchet. They rented out the pool in the back and bitches were twerking. I was down for the cause man haha. If you saw my Snaps, you knew. Hella people hopped in the pool too. I was like WHAT haha. Shit sounds mad uncomfortable after haha and during. It was getting nippy out.

Afterwards I convinced my girl to go see Russ at El Rey. He started out with his hit single What They Want. She was an instant fan. He’s cute too. My homeboy works for Columbia Records who Russ just signed to, and guaranteed and interview with him after. He’s been independent for years so that was interesting. Low key the only reason I was down was to get the exclusive. I fuck with Russ but I was so tired. And hungry. Vicious combo.

I brought my other hg for my plus one. She’s super dope and down with dope music. His set was kinda long. He played from like 10:15 to 11:45. His fan base is unreal though. I’m talking… one race lmao. Middle Eastern and Hispanic. Super sold out show though. So I’m sitting here super lit for this dude, only to be completely chewed out after.

Note, he sold out like every show on his tour. And wears the appropriate jersey for each city. Ew to the Lakers but super dope how he does that. He’s been rapping for like 11 years and has a DIY mentality. Also learned he was heartbroken tn and puts his feelings in his music. Drake status.

Earlier that day, my homie hit me and asked DX to unblock Russ on Twitter, which I thought was fucking weird. When my boss checked, he wasn’t. So I thought that was that. But nope. Afterward, he legit went OFF when we met up with him backstage. Saying FUCK HIPHOPDX, blase blase. I was in shock. I’ve never met an artist who hated the site, let alone, hated haha. He completely aligned me with them, which I didn’t appreciate. As if I had something to do with the past.

No homie, I had nothing to do with whatever encounter you had with DX. That’s over now can we move forward with the interview? Nope. He pulled up emails on his phone from us from last year and 2014. It was a little extra but he was fucking pissed. I took it a little personal but I’m over it now. Legit if an artist is gonna act petty like that, I feel bad for him. We are only here to help him out. He’s prob just so into himself he feels like he’s made it.

Sucks though. The show was lit. It was sad af. I said hi to Snow Tha Product who was chilling in the back, hellllla low key. She barely remembered me lmao so sad. I be like that with people though…

Wow life is crazy. Just wanna hide under a rock like Patrick from Spongebob. Straight up.

Hiding bye.

___

TRACK OF THE DAY: He’s so dope.

One thought on “Russ.

Leave a Reply

