TORY LANEZ.

IMG_4027

Tory Lanez from Ontario, Canada. Singer, rapper, producer, fashion designer, you name it. Me and my hg have been on him since day 1. His music sold me the first time I heard it. He’s a different kind of r&b, more trap I would say. His voice is fire. Sounds autotune, but not… I don’t think. Sold out show at The Roxy on Sunset, one of my fav venues. It’s small which makes the show super intimidate.

We ubered bc parking on Sunset is never fun. First of all, I never get anyone in my Uber pool. Second of all, our driver was a trip. An Asian trip haha. His seats were literally covered in some satin floral embroidery ish. AND THEN, his Maps navigation started talking in Chinese. That was crazy haha. It even had directions in Chinese. I tried to start convo but failed real hard haha. We get there and I ask the security where everyone was at. He said inside cause the show started at 8:30. Touche. We pull up around 9:30 and Tory came out around 9:45. Clutch.

Man, we were stoked. His DJ is actually his brother. Cute right? Anyways, Tory’s entire set was so lit. My homeboy saw him perform in the bay and warned me. I love when upcoming artists can get the crowd hyped. He really put on a performance, running from one side of the stage to the other, crowd-surfing, jumping in the crowd. At one point, he crowd-surfed all the way to the bar on the other end of the room. All while on the mic.

He played all my fav tracks: In For It (produced my RL Grime), The Mission, Initiation, Say It. He played Lord Knows, his track with Meek Mill. It’s Meek’s first track on Dreams Worth More Than Nightmares. It doesn’t say Tory’s name so most people dunno. Omg. He played “Karrueche” and dedicated it to Karrueche Tran who ended up being right behind me. Everyone was staring. She’s bae. My girl crush for sure. I wanted to say hi so bad. Just hi haha. She’s super sweet. No joke though, everyone was staring. It really makes me wonder how people deal with fame. She couldn’t just roll to this show solo, or hit the movies in peace. Interesting.

Tory threw it back on us with some old school jams. It seems like he really fucks with that era. I’m talking “Pony” type tracks. I’m sure that’s where he gets a lot of his influence from. No one can deny the music then compared to now.

IMG_4034

We maneuvered our way to the front, and I got to touch his sweaty body as he crowd surfed over my head haha. I got to chop it up with him later, and I asked if he ever gets scared of falling. He said hell na, you can’t have no fear. Word.

I ran into a lotta heads tn. All different lanes. That was real dope. I found out he’s signed to Interscope. Didn’t know that one.

TRACK OF THE DAY: My fav track.

Leave a Reply

