The Perfect Guy

Welcome to Shirley’s movie review blog. Jk. But really, I have no life haha. After a long day, we hit the late night showing of The Perfect Guy in Culver City. If you’re late to the game, they recently remodeled this movie theater to be an Arclight. There is also a bar… so you can turn up and turn down, at the same damn time.

1

Walking into this, I swear I thought it was a rom-com. All I knew was Michael Ealy was in it, down. Isn’t it interesting how an actor or actress can make you want to see a movie? The acting world is so bizarre to me. I’m content as a spectator. But seriously, those eyes…. He got less attractive as the film went on, unfortunately. The movie begins all super chipper and happy go lucky, a little too much actually. The main female, who my friend informed me was from Niptuck (who actually watched that show?), definitely did not mind having her chest out. Shoot, if I had it like that, I might not either. Kidding.

Anyways, it starts with Sanaa Lathan finding this amazing perfect man, doing everything right (Michael, of course). It was honestly really cheesy and unrealistic, which I guess is expected. He literally does everything right…….. but it doesn’t last long. An incident takes place where she sees his real side and how psychotic he is. At this point, the movie took a left turn. Shit got creepy. I was actually scared at parts, more than The Visit.

It is crazy to think there’s actually stalkers out there ,who dedicate their life to one person due to obsession. Not sure how much this film deserves an in depth review… go if you’re really bored, or want some eye candy. There was only a handful of us in the theater, and we were all laughing at its ridiculousness. At one intense moment in the bedroom, when Michael was nowhere to be found, my friend goes, “he’s under the bed!” My other friend goes… “he’s in the pillow.” Lmao.

I realize I’m lame now and have no desire to go out. I go to movies but will never watch Netflix at home. I don’t judge, but personally, I feel like I’m wasting my time. Even if it’s watching interview with rappers, I’m enhancing my knowledge in something I love. You feel me? That, or my ADD doesn’t allow me to sit still.

TRACK OF THE DAY: Jay Rock of Black Hippy just dropped his 90059 album. This was a single off that, and features Kendrick and the TDE crew. Top Dawg Entertainment is the label they’re all on, FYI. This track goes. Real hip hop. Not that ignorant ish/

Leave a Reply

